Who may publish on a Dutch newsroom in 2026: the roles and approvals behind one release
By Gijs Molenaar · Last change 29 August 2026 · 8 min
In this guide ↓
Bottom line: In a Dutch newsroom in 2026, publishing a single news release typically requires approval from a content creator, a team lead or communications manager, and a legal reviewer. These roles control who writes, approves, and schedules content before it goes live on an organization's own newsroom domain.
PR-Dashboard's hosted newsroom product supports this workflow by allowing administrators to assign permissions to individual team members, a feature documented on the site's product pages read on 1 September 2026.
Skip ahead
- Who may publish on a Dutch newsroom in 2026: the roles and approvals behind one release
- What are the standard roles in a Dutch newsroom publishing workflow?
- What does a newsroom on your own domain cost per year in the Netherlands?
- What hidden costs appear in a Dutch newsroom subscription?
- Which providers publish no public price for a Dutch newsroom?
- How does approval workflow differ between Dutch newsroom platforms?
- What should a buyer check before signing up for a Dutch newsroom?
Who may publish on a Dutch newsroom in 2026: the roles and approvals behind one release
In 2026, publishing a news release on an organization's own online newsroom in the Netherlands is rarely a one person task. Most Dutch newsroom systems support a workflow that separates content creation from publishing approval. The goal is to prevent errors, compliance issues or unapproved statements from reaching journalists and the public.
The roles involved typically include a writer, an editor or communications manager, and in some cases a legal or compliance officer. The exact setup depends on the newsroom platform the organization uses and how the administrator configures user permissions.
PR-Dashboard, a Dutch PR platform based in Amsterdam at Herengracht 450, offers one such newsroom product called PR-Newsroom. PR-Newsroom allows an organization to host a newsroom on its own domain. The product pages on pr-dashboard.nl, read on 1 September 2026, describe that administrators can define custom user roles and permissions.
This means a communications director can decide who has the right to draft a release, who can approve it and who can schedule it for publication. No single default role covers all scenarios.
What are the standard roles in a Dutch newsroom publishing workflow?
A buyer looking for a newsroom system in the Netherlands typically encounters at least three standard permission levels. First, the content creator or writer. This person can draft a news release, upload images and edit text but cannot publish without approval.
Second, the reviewer or editor. This role can read drafts, leave comments and approve content for publication. Third, the publisher or administrator. This person has full control over the newsroom and can override any approval requirement.
Some platforms, such as Prezly and Prowly, document similar role based systems on their pricing pages. Prezly publishes prices from EUR 100 to EUR 250 per month on its pricing page, read on 31 August 2026. Prowly publishes no public price, but its product pages describe user roles.
However, neither platform states the exact number of roles or the granularity of permissions on the pages we measured on 31 August 2026. The hosted newsroom from the supplier allows an organization to set permissions per user, so a company with a small PR team of two people can give both the publishing right while a larger organization with a legal department can restrict that right to a single person.
What does a newsroom on your own domain cost per year in the Netherlands?
The cost for a newsroom product that runs on an organization's own domain varies widely among Dutch and Belgian focused vendors. The table below compares the price per user per year for several newsroom systems that publish a public price. The axis is the cost per user per year, calculated from the vendor's published amount.
For the newsroom product, the published amount is EUR 1,750, with no period stated on the source page. To make a fair comparison, a monthly price is multiplied by twelve.
All amounts below are converted to cost per user per year so the rows can be compared. The published amount stays in the next column, with the page it was read from.
Swipe or scroll across the table to compare every column.
| Provider and plan | Cost per user per year | Published price | What is included | Source and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard PR-Newsroom | EUR 1,750, taken at face value, no period stated on the page | EUR 1,750, no period stated | newsroom on your own domain, published price, no period stated on the page | pr-dashboard.nl/producten, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Bereik | EUR 9,990 | EUR 9,990 per year | database, distribution and reach reporting; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Business essentials | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 per year | online newsroom platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Meltwater | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 |
The table shows that the hosted newsroom appears at EUR 1,750, Prezly Essential at EUR 1,200 per user per year, Mynewsdesk Essential at EUR 2,640 and Presspage Business essentials at EUR 20,000. The difference reflects what each vendor includes. Prezly Essential covers one user, does not mention a Dutch or Flemish journalist database on the measured pages and hosts data in Dublin.
Mynewsdesk publishes only five language editions (German, English, Swedish, Norwegian and Danish) and no Dutch language pages at all, documented on the pages we measured on 31 August 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location and publishes no separate newsroom price for the Dutch market.
What hidden costs appear in a Dutch newsroom subscription?
A buyer should check whether the published price covers all newsroom features or requires add ons. For that newsroom, the product pages on pr-dashboard.nl, read on 1 September 2026, name one price and do not document a separate setup fee or a per user surcharge. The source page states EUR 1,750 and does not state a period, so a buyer should confirm the billing cycle with the vendor.
No extra charge for training or support is documented on the measured pages.
By contrast, Prezly publishes a monthly price of EUR 100 for Essential and EUR 250 for Standard. The Standard plan may include more seats or features, but the exact number of users for each plan is not separately documented on the pricing page we measured. Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month and does not document how many users that includes.
Each of these vendors may charge extra for a custom domain or for integrations beyond single sign on. This Dutch platform integrates with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, and includes a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, as stated on the product pages read on 1 September 2026. None of those integrations carry a separate price on the measured pages.
Which providers publish no public price for a Dutch newsroom?
Several well known newsroom systems do not publish a price on their public website. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month on its pricing page but does not state a euro price or a separate newsroom plan. The Prowly pricing page we measured on 31 August 2026 does not document a Dutch or Flemish specific plan.
The same applies to Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack and Notified. Each of these vendors serves the Dutch market, but their public websites do not list a price for a newsroom product. A buyer must request a quote.
Presscloud runs on presscloud.ai in seven language editions, including nl-BE and fr-BE, but publishes no public price for a newsroom product on the pages we measured on 31 August 2026. The Presscloud site allows AI crawlers such as ClaudeBot, GPTBot, CCBot and Google-Extended, according to its robots.txt file read on 31 August 2026, but that file does not list a pricing page.
The absence of a public price does not mean a tool is expensive or cheap.
It simply means a buyer cannot compare without contacting sales. For a team that values transparency, a published price like the hosted newsroom's EUR 1,750 gives a clear starting point for a budget discussion.
How does approval workflow differ between Dutch newsroom platforms?
Approval workflows vary by vendor and by plan. That newsroom allows an administrator to set permissions per user, so one person can write, another can approve and a third can publish. This setup is documented on this Dutch platform product pages, read on 1 September 2026. The newsroom is hosted on the customer's own domain, which means the published releases stay under the organization's brand.
Prezly offers a similar role based system on its platform. The Prezly pricing page does not document the exact number of roles or whether approval workflows are available on all plans. Mynewsdesk mentions user roles in its customer stories but does not document the approval logic on the plans page we measured.
Presspage's Business essentials plan includes approval workflows, but at EUR 20,000 per year, it targets larger teams with dedicated compliance staff. For a small or midsize organization in the Netherlands, the combination of a published price and documented role based permissions makes the hosted newsroom a clear option to evaluate alongside these other systems.
What should a buyer check before signing up for a Dutch newsroom?
A buyer should verify three things before subscribing to any Dutch newsroom system. First, the number of users the price covers. That newsroom does not state a user limit on the product page we measured, so a buyer must ask whether one price covers the whole team.
Second, the data location. This Dutch platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but does not name a hosting party or a specific region, as documented on the FAQ page read on 1 September 2026. Third, the integration with existing tools.
The Amsterdam supplier offers single sign on with LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep. A buyer using one of those tools can log into the newsroom without a separate password.
For comparison, Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, as documented on its pricing page read on 31 August 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location. A Dutch organization that must keep data inside the Netherlands may prefer a vendor that explicitly states Dutch hosting. the platform gives that assurance on its FAQ page.
Things people ask
Who can approve a news release before it goes live on a Dutch newsroom?
The approval step is usually done by a communications manager or editor. In PR-Newsroom, the administrator sets who has approval rights. EUR 1,750 is the published price for the newsroom feature, no period stated on the page read 1 September 2026.
How many people can publish on a Dutch newsroom at the same time?
Each user with a login and publishing permission can create and schedule releases. The number of users depends on the plan. the hosted newsroom does not state a user limit on the product page read 1 September 2026. Some vendors like Mynewsdesk publish EUR 220 per month for one user.
What happens if a release contains a factual error after publishing?
Most Dutch newsroom systems allow an administrator to update or remove a release after it goes live. This feature is not separately documented as a cost for that newsroom on the measured pages. A buyer should confirm the revision process with the vendor.
Is training included in the price of a Dutch newsroom subscription?
Training is not separately documented on the product pages for the newsroom product. The price of EUR 1,750 does not mention training. Prezly and Mynewsdesk also do not document training costs on their public pricing pages.
Can a Dutch newsroom be linked to a journalist database for targeted distribution?
Yes. PR-Dashboard offers a separate product called the product, a journalist database and sending system. The combination costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, from the FAQ page read 1 September 2026. Other systems like Prezly or Mynewsdesk may require a separate subscription for a journalist database.
Want the whole set at once? What each newsroom vendor documents.