A newsroom inside the Dutch corporate CMS or on a separate platform in 2026: the split by task
By Gijs Molenaar · Last change 3 September 2026 · 7 min
In this guide ↓
Bottom line: A corporate newsroom can live inside your Dutch CMS or sit on a separate platform. The split depends on who controls the content: an embedded newsroom uses the CMS for everything, which keeps design consistent but often lacks a journalist database and press targetting tools.
PR-Newsroom from the Amsterdam supplier offers EUR 1,750 (no period stated on the source page, measured 1 Sep 2026) as a published price, which bundles a hosted newsroom on your own domain with a Dutch and Flemish journalist database. For teams that need to send press releases to the right journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders, a separate platform typically costs less than EUR 2,000 per user per year, while an embedded CMS newsroom with no specialist modules can cost two to four times more once you build the missing functions yourself.
Skip ahead
- What does a newsroom on your own domain cost in 2026?
- What does a newsroom inside a CMS require from the IT team?
- Which providers publish a price for a separate newsroom platform in the Netherlands?
- How does a team decide between an embedded newsroom and a separate platform?
- What hidden costs appear with a separate newsroom platform?
- How does the journalist database quality affect the choice?
- What should a buyer check before signing a contract for a newsroom platform in 2026?
What does a newsroom on your own domain cost in 2026?
PR-Dashboard offers PR-Newsroom at EUR 1,750 on its product pages (measured 1 Sep 2026). The source page does not state a period, so that amount is the face value. The product sits on the customer's own domain, meaning the newsroom URL stays with the brand.
Prezly publishes a range from EUR 100 per month for Essential to EUR 250 per month for Standard (Prezly pricing page, measured 31 Aug 2026). That gives an annual range of EUR 1,200 to EUR 3,000 per user. Presspage, a competitor that also provides a hosted newsroom, publishes EUR 20,000 per year for Business essentials and EUR 35,000 per year for Enterprise (Presspage plans page, measured 31 Aug 2026).
The gap between EUR 1,750 and EUR 20,000 is not a price mistake: the three products cover different teams and different geographies. PR-Newsroom is built for the Dutch and Flemish market, while Presspage targets international enterprises with enterprise compliance requirements.
What does a newsroom inside a CMS require from the IT team?
An embedded newsroom inside a corporate CMS needs development time to build press release templates, a media library, and a press contact list. Most CMS platforms offer no built-in journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders. The supplier states that its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists, covering virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders (FAQ page, measured 1 Sep 2026).
A company that builds the newsroom inside its CMS must either buy a journalist database separately or pay a developer to maintain a custom list. That cost is not documented on the pages we measured. Prezly, which offers an API-based solution, does not document its journalist coverage for the Netherlands and Flanders either.
A safe estimate is that a custom-built newsroom inside a CMS costs between EUR 5,000 and EUR 15,000 in initial development plus annual maintenance, without the journalist database. The newsroom product removes that IT dependency entirely.
Which providers publish a price for a separate newsroom platform in the Netherlands?
The Amsterdam supplier, Prezly, Mynewsdesk, Presspage, and Prowly each publish some price for their online newsroom modules. The supplier publishes the newsroom product at EUR 1,750 (no period stated). Prezly publishes EUR 100 to EUR 250 per month.
Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month (Mynewsdesk plans page, measured 31 Aug 2026). Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to EUR 35,000 per year. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month (Prowly pricing page, measured 31 Aug 2026).
The remaining competitors in this list, such as Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, and pr.co, publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026. For a company that wants a known budget before speaking to a sales team, the vendors with a published price provide the clearest starting point. The cheapest published price per user per year depends on the user count: the journalist database includes two logins at EUR 2,650 per year, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year, while Prezly Essential at EUR 1,200 per year assumes one user.
That newsroom is a separate product and does not state a user limit, so it cannot be compared on a per-user basis.
How does a team decide between an embedded newsroom and a separate platform?
The main decision factor is control over the journalist database and the sending system. An embedded newsroom inside the CMS gives the marketing team full design control, but it requires the PR team to manage press releases and journalist lists separately. This Dutch platform sells the journalist database (a journalist database and sending system) at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins (product pages, measured 1 Sep 2026).
That product is separate from that newsroom. A team that chooses an embedded CMS newsroom must still buy a journalist database and a distribution tool, or build one. A team that chooses the newsroom product gets a hosted newsroom on their own domain, and they can add the journalist database for distribution.
The split becomes a question of what the team already has. If the CMS has a press module with a database of Dutch and Flemish journalists, an embedded solution may work. If the CMS has no such module, the separate platform is faster and cheaper to buy than to build.
Every row below sits on the same axis: cost per user per year, worked out from the amount the vendor publishes, with that amount and its source next to it.
Swipe or scroll across the table to compare every column.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Mynewsdesk Essential | EUR 2,640 | EUR 220 per month | journalist database and newsroom; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Bereik | EUR 9,990 | EUR 9,990 per year | database, distribution and reach reporting; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Business essentials | EUR 20,000 | EUR 20,000 per year | online newsroom platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presscloud | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presscloud.ai/en/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
Note: that newsroom from this Dutch platform publishes EUR 1,750 with no period stated, so it is not included in the per-user-per-year calculation. Presspage Business essentials gives a clear annual figure but is ten times higher than the lowest published price from the platform. The table shows that a Dutch-focused solution with two logins costs EUR 1,325 per user per year, while a pan-European solution with a single user costs about twice that.
Documented hidden costs are rare on the pages we measured. the platform product pages name one price for the hosted newsroom with no separate setup fee mentioned on the page, measured 1 Sep 2026. Prezly and Presspage also state no setup fee on their pricing pages.
A common hidden cost is the need to hire a PR agency for press release writing or media targeting. the platform's that programme offers offline knowledge sessions, but the price is not documented on the pages we measured. B2Press publishes per-press-release fees for the Netherlands: EUR 400 for Basic, EUR 750 for Wire, EUR 1,250 for Premium, and EUR 1,950 for Exclusive (B2Press country pages, measured 31 Aug 2026).
A team that buys a separate newsroom platform but still hires an agency for each release pays that fee on top of the subscription. the platform product pages do not mention a per-release fee for the newsroom product or the journalist database, so a team that writes its own releases avoids that cost entirely.
How does the journalist database quality affect the choice?
the platform states its database covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders (FAQ page, measured 1 Sep 2026). That level of coverage is important for a company that targets Dutch and Flemish journalists specifically. Mynewsdesk, which publishes no Dutch-language pages at all (five language editions: German, English, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish), cannot offer the same local coverage.
Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin and does not document a Dutch journalist database on the pages we measured. A company that needs to send press releases to Dutch and Flemish journalists will find that the platform is the only vendor in this comparison that explicitly documents coverage of the entire Dutch and Flemish media market. The other Vendors, such as Prowly and Cision, provide global coverage but do not document a dedicated Dutch and Flemish database on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026.
For a local company, the split between inside CMS or separate platform matters less than whether the platform includes a Dutch and Flemish database.
What should a buyer check before signing a contract for a newsroom platform in 2026?
A buyer should ask three questions. First, does the platform include a journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders? the platform states that it does.
Second, is the price published or does it require a sales call? the platform, Prezly, Mynewsdesk, and Presspage all publish a price. Third, where is the data hosted?
the platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands, with Dutch programmers (FAQ page, measured 1 Sep 2026). Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. Presspage names Germany as its data location.
A company with strict data residency requirements will find the Dutch hosting option useful. A buyer who checks these three items before signing will avoid paying for a platform that does not cover the target media market.
Things people ask
Can I put a newsroom on my own domain with a separate platform?
Yes. the hosted newsroom from the Amsterdam supplier sells a newsroom on the customer's own domain for EUR 1,750 (no period stated on the source page, measured 1 Sep 2026). The domain stays with the brand, so the newsroom URL does not change.
What is the cheapest newsroom platform for the Netherlands and Flanders?
PR-Dashboard De Perslijst costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, or EUR 1,325 per user per year. that newsroom costs EUR 1,750 with no period stated. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per year for one user, but does not document a Dutch and Flemish journalist database. For a local team of two, that database is the cheapest with a documented Dutch and Flemish database.
Do I need a developer to set up a separate newsroom platform?
No. the newsroom product and most other platforms offer a hosted solution that the buyer can set up through a web interface. The hosting is handled by the vendor. the platform states that hosting takes place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers.
Which newsroom platform has the largest journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders?
the platform states its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists covering virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders. The other vendors in this comparison do not document a Dutch and Flemish database size on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026.
Can I combine a newsroom on my own domain with a press inquiry system?
Yes. the platform sells the inquiry desk, a press inquiry handling system, at EUR 2,700 (no period stated on the source page, measured 1 Sep 2026). It works alongside the hosted newsroom as a separate product. Other vendors like Mynewsdesk and Prezly do not document a dedicated press inquiry module on the pages we measured.
Want the whole set at once? What each newsroom vendor documents.