Skip to content
salado mediaThe online newsroom guide

Media library, images and downloads for Dutch journalists in 2026: a guide to what a newsroom needs

Several distinct closed laptops arranged in a row on a table, each a different colour

A media library on a Dutch press page is the place where journalists find the images, logos, videos and documents they need for a story. In 2026, a well organised library saves a reporter time and helps a company control how its brand looks in print and online. This guide explains what a media library should contain, what it costs and which providers offer one for the Dutch and Flemish market.

What does a media library for a Dutch newsroom cost in 2026?

The price of a media library depends on whether you buy it as part of a newsroom platform or as a separate service. PR-Dashboard sells its PR-Newsroom product for EUR 1,750, as stated on its product page read 1 September 2026. That page does not mention a period, so the price is listed at face value without a monthly or yearly label.

The same vendor also offers De Perslijst for EUR 2,650 per year, which includes two logins and a journalist database alongside the newsroom features. For comparison, Prezly publishes a monthly price of EUR 100 for its Essential plan and EUR 250 for its Standard plan, both measured on 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk starts at EUR 220 per month for its Essential plan, also measured on 31 August 2026.

Presspage publishes an annual price of EUR 20,000 for Business essentials and EUR 35,000 for Enterprise full platform, both measured on 31 August 2026. ANP Connect offers a range of annual plans from EUR 2,990 for Database only to EUR 30,000 for Strategie, all measured on 31 August 2026.

What files should a Dutch newsroom media library contain?

A journalist expects to find several standard folders in a media library. The first folder holds logo files in different versions: a horizontal logo, a vertical logo, a black and white version and a version with a transparent background. The second folder contains portrait photos of spokespeople in print resolution, usually 300 DPI, and in web resolution.

The third folder holds product images from multiple angles with a clean background. The fourth folder stores infographics and charts with a source note so an editor can quote the data. The fifth folder contains video files with subtitles and a separate transcript file, which is required for public bodies under Dutch accessibility rules. Each file should have a clear filename and metadata that tells an editor what the image shows and who took it.

How do image licences work on a Dutch press page in 2026?

Every image on a Dutch newsroom needs a licence that tells a journalist what they are allowed to do with it. The licence should state whether the image is free to use for editorial purposes, whether the photographer must be credited and whether the image can be cropped or altered. A model release is required for every photo that shows a recognisable face, and that release should be stored alongside the image in the media library.

Stock photography can be used on a press page, but the licence from the stock agency must allow editorial use and redistribution. PR-Dashboard does not state a specific licence model on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026, so a buyer should ask about this before signing.

Which providers offer a media library for Dutch and Flemish journalists in 2026?

Several newsroom platforms include a media library as part of their subscription. PR-Dashboard's PR-Newsroom product includes a newsroom on the customer's own domain, which typically contains a media library for images and downloads. Prezly offers a media library in its Essential and Standard plans, with prices starting at EUR 100 per month.

Mynewsdesk includes a media library in its Essential plan from EUR 220 per month. Presspage includes a media library in its Business essentials plan from EUR 20,000 per year. ANP Connect offers a media library in its Connect Complete plan from EUR 4,990 per year.

Prowly publishes a price of USD 258 per month but does not state a euro price, measured on 31 August 2026. B2Press charges per press release, with a Basic package for the Netherlands at EUR 400 per press release, a Wire package at EUR 750, a Premium package at EUR 1,250 and an Exclusive package at EUR 1,950, all measured on 31 August 2026. PR-Ninja charges EUR 149 per press release for a one time send, measured on 31 August 2026.

What should a buyer check before choosing a media library for a Dutch newsroom in 2026?

A buyer should check five things before signing a contract. First, the file formats the library accepts: JPEG, PNG and WebP are standard, but a print publication also needs a print resolution version of each image. Second, the download limits: some providers limit the file size per download or the total bandwidth per month.

PR-Dashboard does not state a download limit on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. Third, the storage space: a press archive can grow to several gigabytes over a year, and the provider should state how much storage is included. Fourth, the approval workflow: who reviews an image before it reaches the public press page, and whether the library supports a two step review process. Fifth, the alt text field: every image on a Dutch press page should have alt text for accessibility and search engine optimisation, and the library should make it easy to add that text.

What are the common mistakes on Dutch press page media libraries in 2026?

Seven mistakes appear often on Dutch press pages. The first mistake is a missing caption on every photo, which leaves an editor guessing what the image shows. The second mistake is a missing photo credit or copyright line, which can lead to a legal issue if the photographer is not named.

The third mistake is a watermark on the image, which most editors will drop because it makes the photo unusable for print. The fourth mistake is a low resolution image that cannot be used in a printed newspaper or magazine. The fifth mistake is a missing model release for a recognisable face, which can stop a publication from using the photo.

The sixth mistake is a file name that does not describe the content, such as IMG_1234.jpg instead of ceo-jan-janssen-portrait-2026.jpg. The seventh mistake is a missing source note on an infographic, which makes the data unquotable for a journalist.

Swipe or scroll across the table to compare every column.

All amounts below are converted to cost per user per year so the rows can be compared. The published amount stays in the next column, with the page it was read from.

Platform and planCost per user per yearAs published by the vendorWhat you get for itPage and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
ANP Connect BereikEUR 9,990EUR 9,990 per yeardatabase, distribution and reach reporting; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
Presspage Business essentialsEUR 20,000EUR 20,000 per yearonline newsroom platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026

Things people ask

What is the cheapest media library for a Dutch newsroom in 2026?

The cheapest published price is PR-Dashboard De Perslijst at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which works out to EUR 1,325 per user per year. Prezly Essential costs EUR 1,200 per user per year but does not include a Dutch journalist database. The price for that database includes a newsroom and a media library, measured on 1 September 2026.

How many gigabytes of storage does a Dutch newsroom media library need?

A press archive for a medium sized company typically needs between 5 and 20 gigabytes of storage per year. This covers portrait photos, product images, logos, infographics and video files. this Dutch platform does not state a storage limit on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026, so a buyer should ask about this before signing.

Can I use stock photography on a Dutch press page?

Yes, you can use stock photography on a Dutch press page, but the licence must allow editorial use and redistribution. Many stock agencies charge extra for editorial licences. the Amsterdam supplier does not state a stock photography integration on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026.

What image resolution do Dutch print media require in 2026?

Dutch print media typically require images at 300 DPI for a printed newspaper or magazine. A photo at 300 DPI and a width of at least 2,000 pixels is safe for most print uses. The media library should store both a print resolution version and a web resolution version of each image.

25 briefings