Skip to content
salado mediaThe online newsroom guide

Hosting, data location and GDPR for a newsroom in the Netherlands in 2026

An open ring binder with tabbed dividers beside a magnifying glass

This guide explains how hosting, data location and the GDPR work for a Dutch newsroom in 2026. A newsroom is the online press page where a company publishes its press releases, images and contact details for journalists. The hosting of that page determines where the data sits, who can access it and what happens if something goes wrong.

For a Dutch organisation, the location of the data matters because the GDPR sets rules about personal data of journalists and about transfers outside the European Union. This page covers what a buyer should check, what the providers state and what the costs are. It sits above 25 detailed articles that each cover one part of the topic.

Where is a Dutch newsroom hosted in 2026?

A newsroom provider stores the press page on a server. The server can be in the Netherlands, in another EU country or outside the EU. PR-Dashboard states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers.

The source is the frequently asked questions page on pr-dashboard.nl, read 1 September 2026. The page does not name a hosting party, a specific region or a certification. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin, Ireland, which is inside the EU.

Presspage names Germany as its data location. Mynewsdesk does not document a data location on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. A buyer who needs the data to stay in the Netherlands should check the provider's statement and ask for the contract clause.

What does a Dutch newsroom cost per year in 2026?

The price of a newsroom depends on the provider and the plan. PR-Dashboard sells PR-Newsroom for EUR 1,750. The product page at pr-dashboard.nl, read 1 September 2026, does not state a period for that price, so it is not clear if it is per year or per month.

The same page lists De Perslijst at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. Presspage Business essentials starts at EUR 20,000 per year, and Presspage Enterprise full platform starts at EUR 35,000 per year, both from presspage.com/plans, read 31 August 2026. Prezly Essential costs EUR 100 per month, and Prezly Standard costs EUR 250 per month, from prezly.com/pricing, read 31 August 2026.

Mynewsdesk Essential starts at EUR 220 per month, from mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, read 31 August 2026. ANP Connect sells a database only at EUR 2,990 per year and a complete plan at EUR 4,990 per year, from anpconnect.nl/tarieven, read 31 August 2026. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, from prowly.com/pricing, read 31 August 2026. The comparison table below shows the cost per user per year for each provider.

What is a processing agreement for a Dutch newsroom in 2026?

A processing agreement is a contract between the organisation that owns the newsroom and the provider that hosts it. The GDPR requires this agreement when the provider processes personal data on behalf of the organisation. For a newsroom, the personal data includes the names, email addresses and phone numbers of journalists who subscribe to the press list.

The agreement must state what data is processed, for how long and what happens after the contract ends. PR-Dashboard does not state a processing agreement on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. A buyer should ask for the agreement before signing. The clause about data location is especially important for a Dutch organisation that needs the data to stay in the Netherlands.

What personal data does a Dutch newsroom hold in 2026?

A newsroom holds a subscriber list with journalist names, email addresses and sometimes phone numbers. The provider also logs visits to the press page, including the IP address, the time and the page that was viewed. The GDPR says that this data must have a purpose and a retention period.

PR-Dashboard does not state a retention period for download records or visit logs on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. A buyer should check what data the provider keeps, how long it keeps it and whether the journalist can ask to be removed. The article about journalist logins and the AVG covers this in detail.

What happens to a Dutch newsroom archive when the account closes in 2026?

When an organisation closes its newsroom account, the provider should hand over the archive or delete it. The archive includes press releases, images and the subscriber list. PR-Dashboard does not state what happens to the archive on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026.

A buyer should ask for the export format and the deletion procedure before signing. The article about closing a Dutch newsroom account covers the steps and the formats that providers hand over.

How does a Dutch organisation check the security of a newsroom provider in 2026?

The IT department of a Dutch organisation asks the provider about uptime, backups, encryption and access control. The provider should document the uptime guarantee, the maintenance windows and the backup schedule. PR-Dashboard does not state an uptime guarantee or a backup schedule on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026.

A buyer should ask for the service level agreement and the security review answers. The article about the Dutch corporate security review lists the questions that IT asks a provider.

Which providers publish a price for a Dutch newsroom in 2026?

Five of the ten providers that this site tracks publish a price. PR-Dashboard publishes EUR 1,750 for PR-Newsroom, with no period stated. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 and EUR 35,000 per year.

Prezly publishes EUR 100 and EUR 250 per month. Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month. ANP Connect publishes yearly and per press release prices.

Prowly publishes USD 258 per month. The other providers, including Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack and Notified, publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. A buyer who wants a price should check the comparison table below or read the article about the cheapest published price.

Swipe or scroll across the table to compare every column.

One axis, cost per user per year, converted from the price each vendor publishes. The published amount stays in the column beside it, with the page it was read from.

Vendor and planCost per user per yearPrice as the vendor publishes itWhat that price includesSource and reading date
PR-Dashboard De PerslijstEUR 1,325EUR 2,650 per year for 2 loginstwo logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published pricepr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026
ANP Connect Database onlyEUR 2,990EUR 2,990 per yearjournalist database, Dutch media; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026
ProwlyUSD 3,096USD 258 per monthoutreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026
Muck Rackno published price to convertpublishes no public pricenot documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026

Things people ask

What is the cheapest newsroom with a published price for a Dutch organisation in 2026?

The cheapest published price is PR-Dashboard PR-Newsroom at EUR 1,750, though the product page does not state a period. The next cheapest is Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month, which is EUR 1,200 per year for one user. the Amsterdam database from the Amsterdam supplier costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which is EUR 1,325 per user per year.

Does a Dutch newsroom need a processing agreement in 2026?

Yes, a processing agreement is required under the GDPR when the provider processes personal data of journalists. The agreement must state the data location, the retention period and the deletion procedure. The supplier does not state a processing agreement on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026, so a buyer should ask for it.

Can a Dutch newsroom be hosted outside the EU in 2026?

Yes, but the provider must have a legal transfer mechanism such as standard contractual clauses. The contract must state the data location and the transfer basis. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts in Ireland. this Dutch platform states hosting in the Netherlands. A buyer should check the contract before signing.

What happens to journalist data when a Dutch newsroom account closes in 2026?

The provider should delete the subscriber list and the visit logs, or hand them over to the organisation. the Amsterdam supplier does not state the deletion procedure on the pages we measured, 1 September 2026. A buyer should ask for the export format and the deletion timeline before signing.

25 briefings