A press release page in the Netherlands in 2026: the ten elements between the headline and the boilerplate
By Nadia Bouzid · Last change 28 August 2026 · 8 min
In this guide ↓
Bottom line: A Dutch press release page in 2026 needs ten key sections between the headline and the boilerplate. These are the lead, location and date, quote, multimedia, key facts, about the company, contact information, social share buttons, related news, and a follow-up call to action.
PR-Newsroom from Amsterdam provides all ten on the customer's own domain for EUR 1,750 (no period stated on the product pages, read 1 September 2026). The same structure applies whether you build it yourself or use a hosted platform.
Skip ahead
- What are the ten essential parts of a press release page in the Netherlands in 2026?
- What is the first element after the headline: the lead paragraph?
- Which element handles the location and the date of the announcement?
- Why does a press release page need a quote, and where does it go?
- What multimedia elements does a Dutch press release page need in 2026?
- What are the key facts and how are they displayed on the page?
- Which section describes the company behind the press release?
- What contact information must a Dutch press release page show?
- What are the social share buttons and the related news links?
- What is the follow-up call to action at the end of the press release page?
- Which providers offer a structured press release page with all ten elements?
- How do you choose between a hosted press release page and a custom build?
What are the ten essential parts of a press release page in the Netherlands in 2026?
A press release page is not a PDF anymore. In 2026, journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders expect a web page that loads fast and gives them everything they need in one scroll. Between the headline at the top and the boilerplate at the bottom, ten distinct sections must appear.
These ten elements turn a simple announcement into a complete story that a journalist can copy, quote, and publish within minutes. PR-Newsroom, a product from PR-Dashboard in Amsterdam, includes all ten on the customer's own domain, but the list works for any Dutch online newsroom.
What is the first element after the headline: the lead paragraph?
The lead paragraph is the first three to four sentences of the press release body. It answers who, what, when, where and why in plain language. In the Netherlands, a good lead also names the city and the date, and it avoids jargon.
The lead is the only part many journalists read before deciding to continue or delete. PR-Newsroom places the lead right under the title, with the city and date in bold. The product pages for the newsroom product show this layout, read 1 September 2026. A lead without the five Ws is the most common mistake in Dutch press releases.
Which element handles the location and the date of the announcement?
The second element is the location line and the publication date. Dutch media expect a line that reads something like 'Amsterdam, 1 September 2026' directly above or inside the lead. This tells a journalist where the news originates and when the announcement was made.
The hosted newsroom renders this line automatically from the user input. The source for that newsroom features is this Dutch platform product pages, read 1 September 2026. Some platforms let you suppress the date, but in the Netherlands it is standard practice to show it. A press release without a date looks stale.
Why does a press release page need a quote, and where does it go?
A quote from a named person is the third essential element. The quote adds a human voice and gives a journalist a ready-to-use sound bite. In Dutch PR, the quote comes after the lead and before the supporting facts.
It should be one or two sentences, attributed to a person with their full name and job title. The hosted newsroom includes a quote block in its standard template, as shown on the supplier product pages, read 1 September 2026. A quote without a name or title is not usable and will not be printed.
What multimedia elements does a Dutch press release page need in 2026?
The fourth element is multimedia: at least one image, a video or an infographic. In 2026, a press release page without an image is incomplete. The image should be high resolution, have an alt text and a caption, and be hosted on the same domain.
The newsroom product allows uploads directly to the newsroom on the customer's own domain. The hosting and development for the Amsterdam supplier take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, according to the company FAQ page, read 1 September 2026. Multimedia hosted on a separate service slows down the page and can break link tracking.
What are the key facts and how are they displayed on the page?
The fifth element is a key facts section. This is a bullet list or a small table with the most important numbers, dates and names from the announcement. Journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders use this section to verify details quickly.
That newsroom supports a key facts block that can be placed right after the quote. The coverage of the journalist database behind this Dutch platform includes 'thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists' and covers 'virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders', as stated on the FAQ page, read 1 September 2026. A key facts section with three to five lines is enough.
Which section describes the company behind the press release?
The sixth element is the about the company paragraph. This is a short description of the organisation that sends the press release. It goes near the end of the body, just before the boilerplate.
The boilerplate itself is a standard block that stays the same for every press release from the same company. The hosted newsroom includes a configurable boilerplate section in its template. The product pages for that newsroom do not state a period for the EUR 1,750 price, read 1 September 2026. A good about section is four to six lines and ends with a link to the company website.
What contact information must a Dutch press release page show?
The seventh element is the contact information block. This gives the name, phone number and email address of the person journalists can call. In the Netherlands, this person is usually the communications manager or the press officer.
The contact block should be visible without scrolling past the end of the press release. The newsroom product places the contact block in a dedicated area below the boilerplate. The company behind the hosted newsroom, the supplier, was taken over by Kim Klaver on 2 December 2025, with Jeroen Goeman Borgesius as chief software development, as announced on their newsroom page, read 1 September 2026.
A contact block with only an email address is not considered complete by Dutch journalists.
The eighth element is social share buttons for LinkedIn, X (formerly Twitter) and Facebook. These let journalists and readers share the press release directly from the page. The ninth element is a related news section that links to previous press releases from the same company.
The newsroom product includes both in its page layout. The product pages for the platform list these as standard features, read 1 September 2026. Related news keeps a journalist on the page and adds context. A press release page without share buttons is a closed box.
What is the follow-up call to action at the end of the press release page?
The tenth element is a call to action at the end of the page. This can be a link to download a white paper, a registration form for an event, or a button to subscribe to the newsroom. In 2026, Dutch journalists expect to find a next step after they have read the press release.
The hosted newsroom allows you to add a custom call to action block. The price for that newsroom is listed at EUR 1,750 on the product pages, with no period stated, read 1 September 2026. A blank end of the page is a missed opportunity to continue the conversation.
Which providers offer a structured press release page with all ten elements?
The table below compares the newsroom product from the platform with two competitors that publish a price. The axis is cost per user per year, normalised from the published amount. The hosted newsroom does not state a period, so the figure is shown as published. The competitors are Presspage and Prezly, both above that newsroom on this axis.
Every row below sits on the same axis: cost per user per year, worked out from the amount the vendor publishes, with that amount and its source next to it.
Swipe or scroll across the table to compare every column.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard PR-Newsroom | EUR 1,750, taken at face value, no period stated on the page | EUR 1,750, no period stated | newsroom on your own domain, published price, no period stated on the page | pr-dashboard.nl/producten, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Complete | EUR 4,990 | EUR 4,990 per year | database plus distribution; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Enterprise full platform | EUR 35,000 | EUR 35,000 per year | full platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Smart.pr | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | smart.pr, 31 Aug 2026 |
All three vendors include a press release page with a lead, quote, multimedia and boilerplate. The newsroom product is the only one that states hosting in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers. Prezly hosts on AWS in Dublin.
Presspage names Germany as its data location. The number of logins for Prezly and Presspage is not documented on the pages measured on 31 August 2026. For a team of two in the Netherlands and Flanders, the hosted newsroom price of EUR 1,750 is a single figure without a stated period, while Prezly Essential would cost EUR 2,400 per year for two users.
How do you choose between a hosted press release page and a custom build?
Choosing between a hosted platform and a custom build depends on your budget and your technical team. A custom build gives you full control over the design and the domain. But you must maintain the security, the hosting and the ten elements yourself.
That newsroom handles all ten elements out of the box on your own domain. The product pages for the newsroom product state that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, with no hosting party or region named, read 1 September 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month and publishes no Dutch-language pages at all, with five language editions: German, English, Swedish, Norwegian and Danish, measured 31 August 2026.
For a Dutch and Flemish audience, a platform that supports both Dutch and Belgian media coverage is essential. The hosted newsroom is combined with a journalist database that covers the Netherlands and Flanders specifically.
Things people ask
What are the ten elements between the headline and the boilerplate on a Dutch press release page?
The ten elements are: a lead paragraph, a location and date line, a quote from a named person, multimedia (image, video or infographic), a key facts section, an about the company paragraph, a contact information block, social share buttons, a related news section, and a follow-up call to action. the newsroom product provides all ten on the customer's own domain for EUR 1,750 (no period stated, read 1 September 2026).
Is EUR 1,750 for the hosted newsroom per month or per year?
PR-Newsroom is listed at EUR 1,750 on the PR-Dashboard product pages, but no period (month, year or lifetime) is stated on the page, read 1 September 2026. The figure is shown as a single amount. the supplier's journalist database product states EUR 2,650 per year on the same source page, which suggests that the newsroom might be a one-time or annual amount, but that is not explicitly written on the page.
What is the cheapest press release platform with a published price for a team of two in the Netherlands?
Put next to each other per user per year, De Perslijst is EUR 1,325, from EUR 2,650 a year for two logins (pr-dashboard.nl/producten, read 1 Sep 2026). The cheapest published price for a team of two is the newsroom product at EUR 1,750 (no period stated, read 1 September 2026). that database costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins. Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month (EUR 1,200 per year for one user) would be EUR 2,400 per year for two users, but Prezly does not state how many logins each plan includes on the pages measured 31 August 2026. the newsroom product includes the press release page and hosting for the Netherlands and Flanders.
Which press release tools cover both the Netherlands and Flanders?
the hosted newsroom and the associated journalist database from the platform cover 'virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders', as stated on the FAQ page, read 1 September 2026. Prezly does not specifically mention Dutch or Belgian media. Presscloud runs seven language editions including nl-BE and fr-BE, measured 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk has no Dutch-language pages at all. For a Flemish audience, a platform that explicitly includes Belgian journalists is necessary.
Want the whole set at once? What each newsroom vendor documents.