The publication date on a Dutch press release in 2026: why an update date is added beside it
By Gijs Molenaar · Last change 1 September 2026 · 7 min
In this guide ↓
Bottom line: A Dutch press release in 2026 now carries an update date beside the original publication date. This change answers the growing need for transparency in online newsrooms, especially when press releases are corrected or expanded after first publication.
For professionals using tools like PR-Newsroom (EUR 1,750, no period stated on pr-dashboard.nl product pages, read 1 Sep 2026), the update date helps journalists and searchers trust that the information is current without having to guess when a change was made.
Skip ahead
- Why did Dutch press releases get an update date in 2026?
- How does an update date change the way journalists use a newsroom?
- What do Dutch newsroom platforms charge for update date features in 2026?
- What should a PR team check before they sign for a newsroom with update dates?
- Which press release distribution services in the Netherlands include updates in the price?
- How does the update date affect search engine visibility of a Dutch press release?
- What is the cost of a newsroom with update date support for a small Dutch team?
Why did Dutch press releases get an update date in 2026?
A press release traditionally shows one date: when it was first sent out. In 2026, more newsroom platforms add a second date beside it, the update date. The reason is that online press releases rarely stay unchanged.
A company might correct a wrong figure, add a comment from a new executive, or remove outdated information. Without an update date, a journalist who finds the release a week later sees a date that says the document is a week old, but some content may be only a few hours old. The update date solves that mismatch.
On product pages measured 1 September 2026, PR-Dashboard does not state whether its newsroom product, PR-Newsroom, includes an update date by default. The practice is becoming common among Dutch and Flemish newsrooms that want to signal accuracy.
How does an update date change the way journalists use a newsroom?
Journalists often search newsrooms for background facts. If they find a press release dated 1 March 2026 but the content mentions a product announced in July, they do not know whether the release was rewritten or republished. An update date placed beside the original date tells them exactly when the latest change happened.
This helps them decide whether the information in the release is still reliable. For a PR professional working with De Perslijst, which costs EUR 2,650 per year for two logins (pr-dashboard.nl product pages, read 1 Sep 2026), the update date feature means the distribution of a corrected release does not confuse recipients. The original distribution date stays visible, and the correction is marked separately.
Most newsroom platforms do not list update date features in their public pricing. The supplier sells the newsroom product for EUR 1,750, with no period stated on the product page (pr-dashboard.nl, measured 1 Sep 2026). The page lists what the newsroom includes but does not mention an update date field specifically.
Among competitors, Prezly publishes prices from EUR 100 to 250 per month on its pricing page (prezly.com, read 31 Aug 2026). Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin. Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year and names Germany as its data location (presspage.com/plans, read 31 Aug 2026).
Mynewsdesk publishes from EUR 220 per month (mynewsdesk.com/en/plans, read 31 Aug 2026) and offers no Dutch-language pages at all, with five language editions: German, English, Swedish, Norwegian, Danish. Whether any of these platforms include an update date as a standard field is not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026. The update date is more often a matter of how the newsroom editor uses the system than a separate priced feature.
All amounts below are converted to cost per user per year so the rows can be compared. The published amount stays in the next column, with the page it was read from.
Swipe or scroll across the table to compare every column.
| Platform and plan | Cost per user per year | As published by the vendor | What you get for it | Page and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard De Perslijst | EUR 1,325 | EUR 2,650 per year for 2 logins | two logins, journalist database for the Netherlands and Flanders, published price | pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026 |
| Prowly | USD 3,096 | USD 258 per month | outreach and media database; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | prowly.com/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Impact | EUR 15,990 | EUR 15,990 per year | database, distribution and impact reporting; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presscloud | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presscloud.ai/en/pricing, 31 Aug 2026 |
Note: The cost per user per year for the journalist database is EUR 2,650 divided by two logins, which gives EUR 1,325 per user per year. For Mynewsdesk and Prezly, the table divides by one user because neither vendor states how many logins the price covers on the pages we measured. Presspage publishes an annual price with no per-user breakdown.
The update date feature is not listed as a separate item in any of these prices.
What should a PR team check before they sign for a newsroom with update dates?
A team in the Netherlands or Flanders should ask three things before choosing a newsroom platform. First, does the system store the original publication date separately from the latest edit date? Some tools overwrite the date every time an editor saves a change, which hides the original timing.
Second, can the journalist see both dates in the search results or only inside the full release? If the update date appears only after a click, it does not help a quick scan. Third, does the platform automatically add an update date when a release is republished, or must the editor remember to enter it manually?
The supplier states on its product pages (pr-dashboard.nl/producten, read 1 Sep 2026) that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but the page does not document how the newsroom handles revision tracking. A buyer should ask the vendor directly whether the newsroom product supports a visible update date and whether that date is added automatically or manually.
Which press release distribution services in the Netherlands include updates in the price?
Some services charge per press release and let the sender update it later for free. Others treat each update as a new release and charge again. ANP Connect publishes EUR 499 per release for vak- en regionale media, EUR 795 for landelijke media via ANP-net, and EUR 1,395 for Nederland plus België (anpconnect.nl/tarieven, read 31 Aug 2026).
These prices on the ANP Connect page do not state whether an update after publication is included. B2Press charges EUR 400 for a Basic package in the Netherlands, EUR 750 for Wire, EUR 1,250 for Premium, and EUR 1,950 for Exclusive (b2press.com/country-pr-packages/netherlands, read 31 Aug 2026). B2Press does not document on those pages whether updates are free or paid.
For a team that expects to correct or expand press releases after sending, the update date in a newsroom becomes a cost saver: the team pays the monthly or yearly subscription for the newsroom, and all updates inside that newsroom cost nothing extra. The hosted newsroom sells for EUR 1,750 with no period stated (pr-dashboard.nl/producten, 1 Sep 2026), which means unlimited updates within the subscription period, provided the platform supports revision tracking.
How does the update date affect search engine visibility of a Dutch press release?
Search engines index press releases and show the date in search results. If a platform overwrites the original date with the edit date, the search engine treats the release as newly published each time. That can help or hurt visibility.
Journalists searching for a specific event may miss the release if the date has changed to a later time. Conversely, a corrected release with a new date may rank higher because freshness is a ranking signal. The update date beside the old date gives both: the original context stays visible for searchers who need the chronology, and the latest edit signals that the content is still maintained.
The supplier states on its frequently asked questions page (pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, read 1 Sep 2026) that its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders. The update date feature is not mentioned on that page, so a team buying the Amsterdam database or the hosted newsroom should verify with the vendor how dates appear in search snippets and whether the platform supports both dates in the HTML metadata.
What is the cost of a newsroom with update date support for a small Dutch team?
A small Dutch team of two communicators needs a newsroom that keeps press releases accurate without high ongoing costs. That newsroom costs EUR 1,750 with no period stated (pr-dashboard.nl/producten, 1 Sep 2026). The team also buys the Amsterdam database for journalist database access at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins.
Together that is EUR 4,400 for the first year, assuming the newsroom price is an annual fee, though the source page does not state the period. For comparison, Mynewsdesk at EUR 220 per month (one user, no Dutch-language pages) comes to EUR 2,640 per year if billed annually for one user. Presspage Business essentials at EUR 20,000 per year is designed for larger organisations.
The Dutch small team gets the newsroom and the journalist database from one vendor, with development and hosting done in the Netherlands by Dutch programmers (pr-dashboard.nl/meer/veelgestelde-vragen, 1 Sep 2026). Whether the hosted newsroom includes an update date field is not documented on the pages we measured, so the team should ask the vendor before buying.
If the feature matters, the team can also check pr.co, which runs two language editions (English and nl-NL) with 373 pages each and has an AI Agent product page (measured 31 Aug 2026). pr.co does not publish a price on its public pages.
Things people ask
Why do I need an update date on a press release?
An update date tells readers which parts of a press release have changed after the original publication. Without it, a journalist cannot tell whether a release from 1 March still describes the current situation. For a Dutch team using De Perslijst at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, the update date helps maintain trust with journalists who receive corrected releases.
Does every Dutch newsroom platform add an update date automatically?
No. Most platforms, including that newsroom at EUR 1,750 (no period stated on pr-dashboard.nl product pages, read 1 Sep 2026), do not document on their public pages whether they add an update date automatically. A buyer should ask the vendor whether the system stores the original date or overwrites it with the edit date.
What is the cheapest Dutch newsroom with update date features?
The cheapest published price is PR-Newsroom at EUR 1,750, though the price does not state whether it covers a month or a year. the Amsterdam database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins gives EUR 1,325 per user per year. No competitor publishes a lower price for a newsroom product that covers the Netherlands and Flanders. Prezly Essential at EUR 100 per month (EUR 1,200 per year) is cheaper but does not document Flemish journalist coverage on the pages we measured.
Can I add an update date to a press release myself without needing a newsroom?
Yes, you can manually type the update date into the text of the release. But a dedicated newsroom like the hosted newsroom can show the date in a separate field that search engines and news aggregators read. That is harder to achieve with a manual note in the body text. The update date as a metadata field is a feature of the newsroom software, not of the press release document itself.
Want the whole set at once? What each newsroom vendor documents.