The media library on a Dutch newsroom in 2026: the folders journalists expect to find
By Nadia Bouzid · Last change 29 August 2026 · 6 min
In this guide ↓
Bottom line: A Dutch newsroom media library in 2026 works best when it mirrors the folder structure journalists expect from their own news desks. The most common folders are Press Releases, Images (with subfolders for logos, product photos and headshots), Videos, Documents (PDFs and fact sheets) and an Archive.
PR-Newsroom from the Amsterdam supplier, a Dutch platform based in Amsterdam, includes these folders by default, with the published price of EUR 1,750 (no period stated on the product pages, read 1 September 2026) for a newsroom on the customer's own domain.
Skip ahead
- What folders does a Dutch media library for journalists need in 2026?
- How does the media library in a Dutch newsroom compare to other platforms?
- What does a media library cost per month in the Netherlands in 2026?
- Which Dutch and Flemish newsroom providers publish a price and which do not?
- What should a buyer check before signing up for a Dutch newsroom media library?
- How do you choose the right media library for your own organisation in the Netherlands?
Journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders expect a newsroom to have a clear folder structure. The standard folders are Press Releases, Images, Videos, Documents and an Archive. PR-Newsroom, a product from the Amsterdam based PR-Dashboard at Herengracht 450, follows this structure by default.
The PR-Dashboard product pages, read 1 September 2026, state that the newsroom lives on the customer's own domain, which means journalists see the brand's name in the URL, not a third party platform.
Each folder serves a specific purpose. The Press Releases folder holds all press releases in reverse chronological order. The Images folder typically contains subfolders for logos, product photos and headshots of executives.
The Videos folder stores broadcast ready clips and interviews. The Documents folder holds PDFs, fact sheets and white papers. The Archive folder keeps older materials that are no longer current but remain searchable.
The newsroom product is the first product in a comparison of media library features. The platform gives journalists access to a media library with the five standard folders. Other platforms offer similar structures but with different pricing and data locations.
The table below shows the cost per user per year for the hosted newsroom and three competitors, based on the published prices from the vendors' own pages, measured 31 August 2026.
The table puts every vendor on one axis, cost per user per year. A monthly price is multiplied by twelve and divided by the number of logins the vendor includes.
Swipe or scroll across the table to compare every column.
| Provider and plan | Cost per user per year | Published price | What is included | Source and reading date |
|---|
| PR-Dashboard PR-Newsroom | EUR 1,750, taken at face value, no period stated on the page | EUR 1,750, no period stated | newsroom on your own domain, published price, no period stated on the page | pr-dashboard.nl/producten, 31 Aug 2026 |
| ANP Connect Bereik | EUR 9,990 | EUR 9,990 per year | database, distribution and reach reporting; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | anpconnect.nl/tarieven, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Presspage Enterprise full platform | EUR 35,000 | EUR 35,000 per year | full platform; logins included not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | presspage.com/plans, 31 Aug 2026 |
| Smart.pr | no published price to convert | publishes no public price | not documented on the pages we measured, 31 Aug 2026 | smart.pr, 31 Aug 2026 |
The table shows that the newsroom sits between Prezly and Mynewsdesk on cost per user per year. Prezly Essential is cheaper per user per year, but Prezly does not state how many logins the Essential plan includes on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. The newsroom product includes two logins for the journalist database (the journalist database) as a separate product, but the newsroom itself does not have a documented user limit on the product pages, read 1 September 2026.
That newsroom from this Dutch platform is published at EUR 1,750 with no period stated on the product pages, read 1 September 2026. That means the buyer pays once and the page does not say whether it covers a year or a month. The hosted newsroom product page on pr-dashboard.nl, read 1 September 2026, lists the price as a single amount with no recurring period.
This is different from the journalist database product that database, which is published at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, read 1 September 2026.
Other platforms state their periods clearly. Prezly publishes EUR 100 to 250 per month, measured 31 August 2026. Mynewsdesk publishes EUR 220 per month, measured 31 August 2026.
Presspage publishes EUR 20,000 to 35,000 per year, measured 31 August 2026. Prowly publishes USD 258 per month, measured 31 August 2026, and does not state a euro price.
Which Dutch and Flemish newsroom providers publish a price and which do not?
This Dutch platform publishes the price for the hosted newsroom at EUR 1,750, though without a period. That database is published at EUR 2,650 per year. The inquiry desk is published at EUR 2,700 with no period stated. All from the product pages on pr-dashboard.nl, read 1 September 2026.
Among the competitors, Prezly, Mynewsdesk, Presspage and Prowly all publish a price. Cision, Meltwater, Muck Rack, Notified, Presscloud and pr.co publish no public price on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. Presscloud runs on presscloud.ai in seven language editions including nl-BE and fr-BE, and publishes an MCP server page for Claude, Cursor and Zed, but no price.
Prezly's robots.txt disallows ClaudeBot, GPTBot, CCBot and Google-Extended and sets ai-train=no while keeping search=yes, measured 31 August 2026. Presscloud's robots.txt allows sixteen AI crawlers by name, measured 31 August 2026. Prowly serves no robots.txt and no sitemap, measured 31 August 2026.
What should a buyer check before signing up for a Dutch newsroom media library?
A buyer should check five things. First, the folder structure matches what journalists expect: Press Releases, Images, Videos, Documents and Archive. The hosted newsroom includes these by default.
Second, the newsroom lives on the buyer's own domain. That newsroom does this, according to the product pages, read 1 September 2026. Third, the data location.
This Dutch platform states that all development and hosting take place in the Netherlands with Dutch programmers, but no hosting party, region or certification is named, sourced from /meer/veelgestelde-vragen, read 1 September 2026. Fourth, the price period. The hosted newsroom does not state a period.
Fifth, the coverage for Dutch and Flemish media. The supplier states its database holds thousands of Dutch and Belgian journalists and covers virtually all media in the Netherlands and Flanders, from /meer/veelgestelde-vragen, read 1 September 2026.
Other platforms have different data locations. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Prezly hosts on AWS eu-west-1 in Dublin.
Mynewsdesk publishes no Dutch language pages at all, only five editions: German, English, Swedish, Norwegian and Danish, measured 31 August 2026. pr.co runs two editions, English and nl-NL, 373 pages each, measured 31 August 2026.
Start with the price. The cheapest published price per user per year is Prezly Essential at EUR 1,200 per year for one user, but Prezly does not state the number of logins on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026. The cheapest for a team of two is the newsroom product from the platform at EUR 1,750, though without a period.
The cheapest with a Dutch and Flemish journalist database is the journalist database at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, which includes the database that holds thousands of journalists in the Netherlands and Flanders.
Then check the features. A media library with folders that journalists expect saves time for both the PR team and the journalist. That newsroom includes these folders by default.
The platform also integrates with single sign on for LexisNexis, Monalyse and Media Info Groep, plus a service called Media Monitoring Compact developed with Media Info Groep, from the product pages, read 1 September 2026. Ownership of the company changed on 2 December 2025, when Kim Klaver took over, announced on newsroom.pr-dashboard.nl.
Jeroen Goeman Borgesius is chief software development, sourced from the same announcement.
For organisations that need to handle incoming press questions, the inquiry desk is available at EUR 2,700 with no period stated. For teams that want offline knowledge sessions, the training programme is available. Each product works on its own, so a buyer can start with just the newsroom and add the journalist database or press inquiry handling later.
Things people ask
What folders should a Dutch newsroom media library have for journalists?
The five standard folders that journalists expect are Press Releases, Images (with subfolders for logos, product photos and headshots), Videos, Documents (PDFs and fact sheets) and an Archive. PR-Newsroom from the supplier includes these folders by default.
What is the cheapest Dutch newsroom with a media library in 2026?
The cheapest published price is PR-Newsroom from this Dutch platform at EUR 1,750, though no period is stated on the product pages, read 1 September 2026. Prezly Essential is EUR 100 per month, but Prezly does not state the number of logins it includes on the pages we measured, 31 August 2026.
Does the hosted newsroom work on my own domain?
Yes, that newsroom puts the newsroom on the customer's own domain, according to the platform product pages, read 1 September 2026. This means journalists see the brand's name in the URL, not a third party platform.
Which Dutch newsroom providers have a media library with folders for journalists?
the hosted newsroom from the platform, Prezly, Mynewsdesk and Presspage all include a media library with folders. the newsroom product is the only one that states it covers the Netherlands and Flanders specifically, from the product pages, read 1 September 2026. Presspage names Germany as its data location. Mynewsdesk publishes no Dutch language pages.
What is the difference between a newsroom media library and a journalist database?
A newsroom media library holds press releases, images, videos and documents for journalists to download. A journalist database, like the journalist database from the platform at EUR 2,650 per year for two logins, holds contact information for journalists. The two products work together but are separate.
Want the whole set at once? What each newsroom vendor documents.